Robin Marchione named Intercollegiate Tennis Association Rookie of the Year

First-year student Robin Marchione is the first player to receive this honor in Rollins history.

(Photo by Jim Hogue) (Photo by Jim Hogue) The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) has announced its 2013 national award winners for NCAA Division II men's tennis. Rollins freshman Robin Marchione was named the ITA Rookie Player of the Year.

This marks the first time a Rollins player has been given the honor in program history, dating back to when the award was first given out back in 1995.

Marchione has already been named the All-Sunshine State Conference Freshman of the Year along with earning All-Conference Second Team honors. He finished with a 16-5 overall singles record and boasted an unblemished mark in conference play. 

2013 Men's Award Winners:
Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year – George Samuel, Barry University
ITA Assistant Coach of the Year – Daniel Rockhill, Concordia College (NY)
ITA Senior Player of the Year – Georgi Rumenov, Armstrong Atlantic State University
ITA Rookie Player of the Year – Robin Marchione, Rollins College
ITA Player to Watch – Vincent Verpeaux, Lander University
ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr. Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship – Luke Joyce, Midwestern State University

See a full list of past award winners

See the full list of 2013 ITA Award Winners