Jaeger earns 2018 Porter Fund Literary Prize

Tyrone Jaeger ’90, an English professor at Hendrix College in Conway, Arkansas, has won the 2018 Porter Fund Literary Prize. The award is presented annually to an Arkansas writer with a substantial and impressive body of work that merits enhanced recognition. Jaeger will be honored at an award ceremony on October 11 in downtown Little Rock.

Past winners of the Porter Prize include Mara Leveritt, Morris Arnold, Kevin Brockmeier, and Jo McDougall, the Poet Laureate of Arkansas. The $2,000 prize makes it one of the state’s most lucrative and prestigious literary awards. 

Jaeger is the author of the story collection So Many True Believers and the cross-genre novella The Runaway Note. His writing has appeared in the Oxford American, Southern Humanities Review, The Literary Review, Descant, Southeast Review, PRISM International, and elsewhere. He is the recipient of the Frank O’Connor Award for Short Fiction and the Theodore Christian Hoepfner Award.

Jaeger has been a member of the faculty at Hendrix College since 2008. Born and raised in the Catskill Mountains, Jaeger lives on Beaverfork Lake, Arkansas, with his wife and daughter.

Author photo credit: Maxine Payne