Faculty Highlights

Roe Receives McKean Grant Award for Collaborative Art Project

On April 29, Rollins College Provost Carol Bresnahan presented Associate Professor of Art Dawn Roe with the McKean Grant Award at the final Rollins faculty meeting of the academic year.

Through the generosity of Hugh and Jeannette McKean, the McKean Grant was established at Rollins in 1982 to provide the opportunity for a faculty member to accomplish what would otherwise be impossible in a single professional career.  Hugh McKean, who served as president of Rollins from 1951 to 1969, was known for his intellectual curiosity, breadth of vision, and generous spirit.

Each year, proposals are evaluated by a review committee of Rollins alumni who are professors and scholars at other colleges and universities. 

Roe’s proposal focuses on a public project—one that aims to stimulate thoughtful discussion on timely issues around the U.S. and internationally. Currently, the project has just one physical space in the storefront of a local business. With the help of the McKean Grant, this Roe will seek out additional venues.

Because the mission of the project is designed to promote dialogue and exchange, the work on display is not for sale. Therefore, there is no other method by which to generate funds to support the ongoing work. The McKean Grant would permit multiple collaborations with colleges and universities, arts and cultural organizations, and local and regional businesses. The possibilities for the continuation of this project, such as providing an opportunity for students to directly engage in this work through student-faculty collaboration or directed internships, will prove meaningful to the Rollins community.

Roe earned a BFA from Marylhurst University, Oregon, and an MFA in Studio Art from Illinois State University.