Remembering Commencement 2015

Rollins College celebrates the Class of 2015 graduates of the Arts and Sciences and the College of Professional Studies, and recognizes outstanding students and faculty members.

(Photo by Scott Cook) (Photo by Scott Cook)

(Video by Simple Thought Productions)

Browse the Arts and Sciences and College of Professional Studies commencement photos.

On Sunday, May 10, graduates of Rollins College participated in the 2015 commencement celebration in the Harold & Ted Alfond Sports Center. More than 460 graduates received hand-signed diplomas. The commencement address was delivered by Janis Hirsch ’72, television and film writer, producer, and author.

The commencement ceremony honored the accomplishments of the graduates and esteemed faculty members. The graduates gave a standing ovation for their late classmate Will Hauver ’15, who passed away in February.

The following graduates and faculty members received special recognition at the ceremony.

Student Awards

General Charles McCormick Reeve Scholarship Awards
Lisa Duemmling, Valedictorian
Meredith Lax, Valedictorian
Shelby McGuire, Valedictorian
Chelsea Penther, Valedictorian
Jessica Wilson, Valedictorian

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Medallions
Lindokuhle Ngwenya
Luz “Gabby” Cabrera

Faculty Awards

Arthur Vining Davis Fellows
Kevin Griffin, Assistant Professor of Theatre Arts & Dance
Emmanuel Kodzi, Assistant Professor of International Business
Martina Vidovic, Assistant Professor of Economics

Bornstein Award for Faculty Scholarship
Carol Frost, Theodore Bruce and Barbara Lawrence Alfond Professor of English

Cornell Distinguished Service Award
Claire Strom, Rapetti-Trunzo Professor of History

Elevation to Emeritus Status
Sue Easton, Professor of Communication
Kenna Taylor, Professor of Economics and International Business
Robert Smither, Dean and Professor of Psychology

Decoration of Honor
Lorrie Kyle ’70, Executive Assistant to the President
Craig M. McAllaster, Acting President

Honorary Degree
Janis Emily Hirsch ’72, Doctor of Humane Letters, honoris causa
Dianne Tauscher Rice ’61, Doctor of Humane Letters, honoris causa