Moore Named Florida Professor of the Year

Thomas Moore is honored for his commitment to undergraduate education and research in science.

Long-time Rollins College physics professor Thomas Moore has recently been named the 2013 Florida Professor of the Year by The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE). Moore serves as the Archibald Granville Bush Professor of Science.

CASE and the Carnegie Foundation have been partners in offering the U.S. Professors of the Year awards program since 1981. The U.S. Professors of the Year awards program recognizes the most outstanding instructors in the nation, those who excel as teachers and role models, and who have had a large impact on the lives and careers of their students. This award is one of the most prestigious honors for undergraduate teaching, and Moore was selected from more than 350 top professors in the United States.

Moore joined Rollins in 1999 and since then has developed and taught numerous courses—ranging from first-year courses for non-science students to senior-level courses for physics majors. He has also developed experimental interdisciplinary courses with faculty from the departments of music, art, and philosophy. In addition to his dedication to undergraduate research, he spearheaded the planning for Rollins’ newly opened Bush Science Center.

“Dr. Moore has been an exemplar of innovative teaching and collaborative research, and a fully engaged member of the Rollins community,” said President Lewis Duncan. “Rollins is honored to have him as a professor. He has been a mainstay in the College’s Student-Faculty Collaborative Scholarship Program for undergraduate students. His research with them has focused on optics and acoustics, engaging both science and music majors. Their shared investigations of musical acoustics are an example of the cross-disciplinary basis of the Arts and Sciences at Rollins.”
This year Moore was among 36 undergraduate professors, each one recognized by their state as Professor of the Year. CASE assembled two preliminary panels of judges to select finalists. The Carnegie Foundation then convened the third and final panel, which selected four national winners. CASE and Carnegie select state winners from top entries resulting from the judging process. Moore was selected from faculty members nominated by colleges and universities throughout the country.